CIAA Hall of Fame taps VUU, VSU standouts for 2017

1/20/2017, 8:20 p.m.
Virginia Union University’s Terry Davis and Derrick Johnson, and Virginia State University’s Dr. DeWayne Jeter are among those named to ...

Virginia Union University’s Terry Davis and Derrick Johnson, and Virginia State University’s Dr. DeWayne Jeter are among those named to the John McLendon Jr. CIAA Hall of Fame.

Davis and Johnson were All-CIAA basketball centers at VUU who went on to play professional basketball.

Dr. Jeter was a record-setting quarterback for the VSU Trojans.

They are part of a seven-person class that will be formally inducted during the CIAA Hall of Fame Breakfast on Feb. 24 at the Charlotte Convention Center in North Carolina.

“We are pleased to honor this distinguished group of individuals whose talents and contributions to the CIAA and its member institutions have been locally and nationally recognizable and impactful,” said CIAA Commissioner Jacquie McWilliams.

Davis, from South Boston, scored 1,508 points, grabbed 1,125 rebounds and was named CIAA Player of the Year in both 1988 and 1989. VUU was 101-22 during his four seasons. The 6-foot-10 Davis went on to play in the NBA from 1990 to 2000 with Miami, Dallas, Washington and Denver.

Johnson, also 6-foot-10, hailed from Cleveland. “D.J.,” as he was called, helped the Panthers to the 1992 NCAA Division II championship and was the 1994 Division II National Player of the Year.

Johnson later played professionally in Brazil, Argentina, Poland and South Korea.

Dr. Jeter was a three-time, All-CIAA quarterback at VSU. Playing for the Trojans from 1957 through 1960, he established passing and total offense records that stood for 28 years.

He signed professionally with the Dallas Texans of the AFL in 1962. Today, the team is known as the NFL’s Kansas City Chiefs. He went on to spend 30 years in education administration.

Others to be inducted are:

• Dr. Mickey L. Burnim, president of Bowie State University, former chancellor at Elizabeth City State University and a member of the CIAA Board of Directors. He also serves on the board of directors of the American Association of State Colleges and Universities, and has served on the NCAA Division II Presidents’ Council.

• LaKisha Phifer-Patterson, one of the greatest shot blockers in women’s college basketball during her playing career at the former St. Paul’s College in Lawrenceville. Phifer-Patterson played from 1995 to 1999. She was named CIAA Rookie of the Year and earned All-CIAA team honors in 1996. She set the NCAA record for all men’s and women’s divisions with 20 blocks recorded in a single contest in January 1996.

• Richard Huntley, a running back at Winston-Salem State University who rushed for more than 1,000 yards in each of his four seasons as a collegiate player. He was ranked second all time in NCAA history with 6,286 yards rushing and the CIAA’s career scoring leader with 372 points on 62 touchdowns. In 1996, he was a fourth round draft pick by the NFL’s Atlanta Falcons. He went on to play for the Pittsburgh Steelers (1998 to 2000), the Carolina Panthers (2001) the Buffalo Bills (2002) and the Detroit Lions (2002).

• Stephen A. Smith, a Winston-Salem State University alumnus and co-host of ESPN’s “First Take,” an NBA analyst on “SPORTSCENTER” and SiriusXM sports radio host of his own show. Smith’s basketball career under legendary Winston-Salem State Coach Clarence “Big House” Gaines was cut short by an injury. He went on to become a sports journalist at several newspapers before moving to television and radio.

Tickets for the Hall of Fame Breakfast are $45 and are available online at www.theciaa.com.